Chakra Gemstones

The word ‘chakra’ is derived from the Sanskrit word for ‘wheel’. Chakra in context refers to what yoga Upanishads consider the centre of psychic consciousness and spiritual energy. There are seven main chakras located in the human spine; located in what is defined as our ‘subtle body’. Unlike the physical body, the subtle body cannot be seen with any ordinary eye. Chakras are energy points in the human body. They are constantly moving and absorbing power and prana, which is a life-force energy.¬† Healthy chakras will allow positive energy to freely flow through our systems unhindered, providing inner balance which is paramount for maintaining good health.

The seven centres for energy correspond as follows:

Sahasrara – The Crown Chakra

The Sahasrara Chakra is the seventh chakra and is taken from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘thousand-fold’. The seventh chakra is also called the Crown Chakra; it is located on the top of the head. The head is considered the ultimate destination for the human soul. The Sahasrara Chakra corresponds to feelings of enlightenment, transcendence and spirituality. If this energy centre is well-balanced, it can transform into manifestations of pure wisdom, illumination and self-knowledge. If the energy flow is hindered, one will suffer from ego, vanity and excessive self-pride. The Sahasrara Chakra has 1000 petals and it radiates white, yellow and violet.

Sahasrara Gemstones:

Sapphire (Yellow or White), Diamond (Yellow or White), Citrine, Topaz (Yellow or White), Spodumene, Danburite, Opal (White), Moonstone, Iolite, Amethyst, Tanzanite and Charoite.
Ajna – The Brow

The Ajna Chakra is often referred to as the Third Eye or Brow Chakra and is also called the centre of Christ consciousness. The Ajna energy centre is located between the eyebrows. The concept of the Brow Chakra is sight, particularly in the spiritual and psychic sense. This chakra is associated with clairvoyance, intuition and clarity. A well-balanced Ajna Chakra will embody truth and empower clarity and vision. A hindered flow of energy can manifest itself into materialism, lack of focus and lack of vision. The Ajna has 96 petals and is associated with the colours green and indigo.

Ajna Chakra Gemstones:

Emerald, Jade, Diamond, Tanzanite, Charoite, Kyanite, and Fluorite.
Vishuddha – The Throat

The Vishuddha is the throat or fifth Chakra. This energy point is located at the base of the throat and controls the laryngeal plexus, including the throat, jaw, mouth, neck and lungs. Vishuddha is a Sanskrit word that can be translated as ‘pure’. It is associated with the element of sound and the colour blue. The elephant symbolizes the Vishuddha Chakra.

Vishuddha Chakra Gemstones:

Turquoise, Blue Topaz, Blue Zircon and Fluorite
Anahata – The Heart

The Anahata Chakra is located behind the heart and is connected with the soul. The Anahata Chakra is said to be directly linked to the brain centre for creativity as well. From the energy point centre is where our insight is said to originate. The Anahata represents cleanliness and stainless. The element for Anahata is air and this chakra has 12 petals. The colours for Anahata are green and pink.

Anahata Gemstones:

Aventurine, Emerald, Chrysocolla, Peridot, Jade, Rose Quartz, Kunzite and Morganite.
Manipura – The Solar Plexus

The Manipura Chakra is the third chakra. The yellow lotus of energy makes its home in the stomach and represents fire and transformation. The energy centre is where we gather the ‘stomach’ for strength, courage and personal power. It governs how we respect each other and interact with one another. The Manipura has 10 petals and its element is fire. The colour yellow strengthens the Manipura Chakra.

Manipura Gemstones:

Citrine, Yellow Topaz, Golden Topaz, Imperial Topaz, Amber, Sunstone, Tigers Eye and Yellow Jasper.
Swadhisthana – The Sacral

The Swadhisthana Chakra is the second chakra. It is related to the spleen and intestines. It is located just below the pelvic bone. The Swadhisthana Chakra correlates with reproductive organs and our sex drive. It is tied with success, vitality, affection and creativity. The colour for the Swadhisthana Chakra is orange.

Swadhisthana Gemstones:

Carnelian, Citrine, Topaz, Tigers Eye, Spessartite Garnet and Amber.
Muladhara – The Root Chakra

The Muladhara Chakra is the root chakra. It is the red lotus of energy centre. Its location is just below the spine; this chakra is the closest to the ground, which is why it is referred to as the root chakra. It is said to be very grounding and controls our sense of security in life. It offers stability and footing and ensures we find our strength to stand our ground. Its element is earth and it sense is smell. The Muladhara has 4 petals.

Muladhara Gemstones:

Obsidian, Onyx, Red Jasper, Ruby, Hematite, Garnet and Smoky Quartz.